This is the "Springy College: Guide Subject" page of the "National Geographic Virtual Library Guides" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

National Geographic Virtual Library Guides  

Last Updated: May 11, 2015 URL: http://bestof.libguides.com/NGVLLibGuides Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Springy College: Guide Subject Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

LibGuide Author

Anne Marie Houppert Profile Image

About Me:
I've been a librarian with the National Geographic Library for 19 years, and specialize in print editorial metadata and indexing. In addition, I work at the reference desk weekly, and I'm the product manager for the National Geographic Virtual Library, a library database product we've created in partnership with Gale Cengage, which includes National Geographic magazines, books, photos, maps, and videos. We've had LibGuides in our Library for some time, using them to create internal research guides for the staff on a variety of topics. They weren't a project I happened to work on, but then decided to create a group of them as a discovery tool for the National Geographic Virtual Library. I was able to leverage the fact that we already had them in-house, and that we have design expertise right in our library. I watched several excellent Springshare webinars and have found LibGuides to be very intuitive to use. It's a very creative process and I have found it to be a lot of fun.

How do I see libGuides enhancing the content you provide via the NGVL and Common Core materials?
I tend to think the National Geographic content speaks for itself, but librarians, teachers, and end users might not have time to sit down and spend hours browsing. We're a library, and we know librarians and teachers have a number of databases available to them, and don't necessarily have time to create extensive topical guides for every database they offer to the public. That's where I come in! The LibGuides offer a place for us to combine resources on a topic with LibGuide pages containing links to various Common Core material in the National Geographic website.

What was my inspiration for creating these guides?
This past summer: I'd been at the ISTE (International Society for Technology in Education) conference and heard people mention LibGuides in several sessions, and I kept thinking hey, we use LibGuides. Then I was in a meeting with our Gale partners and I had worked up a topical bibliography to show them, and was trying to think of a way to convey that information to the public. Then I realized LibGuides would be a perfect solution.
 
How do I see LibGuides enhancing the content?
The LibGuides are a wonderful enhancement to the National Geographic content. They allow me to combine content from different media in a curated way, which hopefully will provide some research ideas to library users. The first guide I did was for geography, and I could combine books, maps, magazine articles, photos, an embedded website page, and geography games from four different areas of Nationalgeographic.com; the games have been very popular!

Who would you like to see use these guides?
I would love to see everyone use the guides. I think there is something in the National Geographic Virtual Library for almost everyone, whether you're interested in health and medicine, wildlife, maps, Ancient Egypt, shipwrecks, countries and cultures, water resources, global warming, or countless other topics. I think they would be most useful for any library offering the National Geographic Virtual Library, or considering offering it, as the content in the LibGuides is all available there. Types of libraries include school medica centers, academic, public, and special libraries.
 
What are some tips I'd like to share with others who might be copying my guide?
One tip I'd offer anyone using the guides is that you don't need to ask permission! Import them, link to them, tweet them, or blog them - they were created expressly for you. You could link the different guides to your existing LibGuides or online pathfinders on various topics, or link to the directory from your resources page. There is a QR code on the directory and home page. If your library offers the National Geographic Virtual Library, you could feature different guides in email announcements to your users, showing them all the content you are providing for them. I'm working on more guides, so please feel free to email me any feedback - I'd love to hear from you!
 
What is my favorite thing about LibGuides?
My favorite thing is that we are able to share these guides online with anyone in the world. My second favorite thing is the fun factor of being able to put in the ISBN and show the book covers. Last, but not least, is the ability to see the statistics and be able to track which guides are being used, which can help me shape the LibGuides to come.

To see more of Anne Marie's Guides - Visit the National Geographic Virtual Library--Research Guides Directory!

 

Check Out the Guide

Access the National Geographic Virtual Library--Research Guides Directory!

"These LibGuides are to assist anyone in locating content in the National Geographic Virtual Library (NGVL). You can link to the guides, and libraries are welcome to import them. Click on the "For Librarians" tab for more information. Happy researching!"

 

Can I use this guide in my site?

Absolutely - all guides featured in the Best Of site have been cleared for sharing! Here's how:

  • Click the guide link (above)
  • Copy the guide's URL
  • Follow these instructionsto copy a guide from another system into your site!,

And remember - when reusing content from another site, it's always nice to add an attribution, see the box above for attribution information.


Can I nominate a Guide?

Want to submit a site for Best Of? Awesome! But before you email, remember The Rules:

1) To be featured, guide owners must agree to share their content

2) All nominations should include a brief statement on what makes it the best

3) Want to nominate your own guide? Cool! Just let us know it's yours.

button

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip